At a tribute night in his honour at Lord’s, Younis selected Imran Khan as captain of his best-ever Test XI, which features Adam Gilchrist as wicketkeeper and Glenn McGrath as the leader of a fearsome pace attack.

India maestro Sachin Tendulkar and Pakistan batsman Hanif Mohammad open the batting in Younis’ dream-team, with modern-day stars Jacques Kallis and Brian Lara slotting in at three and four respectively.West Indians Viv Richards and Garfield Sobers, along with Gilchrist and Imran, complete a devastating middle order.

The side has no shortage of batting firepower, with allrounder Richard Hadlee selected at No.9, while Muttiah Muralidaran and McGrath are the two specialist bowlers.

Australia legend Shane Warne’s omission at the expense of Muralidaran is sure to fire up fans of the King of Spin, but a look at Younis’ record against the pair may provide an insight into his thinking.